Experience.
Integrity.
Attention.
Understanding.

Consequences for underage DUI in Florida

Under Florida law, individuals under the age of 21 are not allowed to purchase, possess or consume alcohol. Furthermore, they are not allowed to operate a motor vehicle if their blood alcohol level is .02 or greater. Those who are convicted of underage DUI for the first time will likely have their licenses suspended for six months, and other penalties may apply depending on the circumstances of a given case.

What was your blood alcohol level when you were charged?

If you were convicted of underage DUI with a blood alcohol content of less than .02, you will lose your license for at least six months. However, if your blood alcohol content was .08 or higher, you will lose your license for up to a year. Furthermore, a judge may order you to pay a $500 fine, perform up to 50 hours of community service and spend up to six months in jail.

How old were you when you were charged?

Drivers who are under the age of 18 when they are charged with DUI may face additional penalties if they are convicted. In most cases, they will be required to take part in an alcohol education program. However, it is up to the judge to determine if you will be required to take such a step.

You may face additional penalties regardless of your age

It’s important to note that a judge is generally allowed to increase the severity of your sentence if the circumstances support doing so. Therefore, it’s possible that your license could be suspended for more than six months. If your blood alcohol level was more than .08 when taken into custody, your vehicle may be impounded.

If you are charged with DUI, you will likely face a significant interruption to your life. Even if you aren’t sent to jail, spending several months without a license may make it difficult to get to work, school or other appointments. Having the assistance of an attorney can thus be vital.