Home » Criminal Defense » Misdemeanors

Misdemeanor Defense

A misdemeanor is a crime handled in a county court system. Those who are convicted of these crimes may face time in a county jail for up to a year, and could be charged fines of up to $1,000 depending on the situation. In Florida, misdemeanors are classified as either first, second or third degree, with first-degree violations considered more serious, and normally requiring for greater punishment or retribution. Persons convicted of a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida may be sentenced to up to 60 days in county jail and may be asked to pay a fine of up to $500. With first-degree offenses, county jail time can stretch to up to a year, and fines can reach $1000. There are many different violations that can result in misdemeanor charges, including:

  • Simple battery
  • Criminal mischief
  • Bad checks valued under $150
  • Domestic violence
  • DUI
  • Knowingly driving with a suspended license, or a second offense
  • Indecent exposure
  • Loitering
  • Marijuana possession under 20 grams
  • Reckless driving
  • Shoplifting up to $300
  • Solicitation for or engaging in prostitution
  • Vandalism
  • Trespassing
  • Resisting arrest without violence
  • Petit theft, repeat offense
  • Criminal mischief with damage under $200
  • First-offense driving on suspended license
  • Disorderly conduct
  • Disorderly intoxication
  • Harassing phone calls
  • No motorcycle endorsement
  • Attaching unassigned or expired tags

Contact An Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney

At The Law Offices of Justin Rickman, we know what you are facing and we are prepared to help you with the necessary steps to protect you when facing misdemeanor charges in Clermont, Florida. Call a lawyer today at 352-394-2041, or contact us online.