Experience. Integrity. Attention. Understanding.

  1. Home
  2.  | 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  | 
  5. DUI And Traffic Violations
  6.  | Boating Under The Influence

Getting A DUI On A Boat

Florida is known as the sunshine state for a reason and because of all this beautiful weather, people spend a lot of their time out on a boat enjoying our lakes and oceans. Being on the water often involves indulging in alcoholic beverages. If you are caught drinking and driving a boat to the extent of impairment, you can face charges. At The Law Offices of Justin Rickman, we have been helping boaters in the Clermont and surrounding areas defend these charges. We offer honest and compassionate defense and pride ourselves in providing high quality legal representation.

Understand the Florida Boating Under the Influence Law

Florida officials take boating under the influence just as serious as drinking and driving a vehicle on the roads. The penalties for boating under the influence can be serious. An officer must have probable cause to stop your boat and, if it is not clear who is driving, the owner of the boat could be held responsible. Florida’s Implied consent law covers boats also, so you may be subject to blood alcohol testing and face consequences if you refuse.

If you are convicted of boating under the influence for the first time, you could be facing fines up to $1,000 and possible jail time. Your third BUI within in 10 years of at least one of a prior BUI or DUI offense is a third-degree felony, and you could be looking at up to 5 years in prison with a minimum mandatory jail sentence of at least 30 days.

When you are charged with boating under the influence, it is important to have a DUI lawyer by your side as soon as possible. Our attorney will provide you with an aggressive criminal defense that addresses every aspect of your case. We will take the time to make sure the stop was legal and that the officer had probable cause to search the boat or arrest you.

Charged With Boating Under The Influence? Give Us A Call Today.

Being charged with a DUI while boating does not have to be the end of the world. Boaters in the Lake, Sumter, Orange, Osceola and Polk counties can call our office at 352-269-8652 or send us an email.