PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via the telephone or through video conferencing. Please contact our office to discuss your options. 

PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via the telephone or through video conferencing. Please contact our office to discuss your options. 

Experience.
Integrity.
Attention.
Understanding.

Driver had interesting message for deputies who pulled him over

A Florida man had an interesting message for deputies who pulled him over before arresting him for driving under the influence. “You got me,” were the initial words spoken by the man.

The 49-year-old man was speeding when a deputy enforcing traffic safety regulations pulled him over. The message from the man was delivered as soon as the deputy approached the driver’s side window to make contact with him. Further investigation led to the arrest for DUI.

The deputy said the man’s eyes were bloodshot red and watery. In addition, the suspect reportedly spoke with a thick tongue while delivering what amounted to a verbal surrender. After being asked for his driver’s license, he fumbled to find the right card inside the car. Eventually, the driver tried to hand the officer a piece of paper.

The driver continued to search through his wallet once informed the piece of paper was not a driver’s license. The second time was the charm, and the driver was finally able to produce his driver’s license.

Since the offender was unwilling to take field sobriety tests, he was placed under arrest. He was taken to the Naples Jail Center where he was booked for traveling at 86 mph in a 60-mph zone and driving under the influence.

The penalties for drunk driving in Florida are greatly influenced by prior convictions. First offenses for drunk driving are punishable by up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. A second offense will double the maximum fine and increase the maximum jail stay to nine months. A third offense that takes place 10 or more years after a second offense is a misdemeanor that carries up to a year in jail and up to a $5,000 fine. A third offense with a prior within 10 years of the current charge is a felony that can result in five years spent in state prison.

Driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol is a crime that may cause both immediate and long-term damage to the life of an accused person. If you’ve been arrested under suspicion of DUI, an attorney could help protect your rights and mount a defense against the allegations.