PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via the telephone or through video conferencing. Please contact our office to discuss your options. 

PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via the telephone or through video conferencing. Please contact our office to discuss your options. 

Experience.
Integrity.
Attention.
Understanding.

DUI laws in the state of Florida

Individuals who are found to be driving while impaired in the state of Florida may be charged with a criminal offense. An individual is generally considered to be impaired if his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher. Those who are convicted of this crime for the first time will likely pay a fine of up to $2,000. The fine may be increased to up to $4,000 for drivers who had a BAC of .15% or higher.

A driver who is facing his or her first drunk driving charge may spend up to a year on probation or up to six months in jail. A jail term can be extended to nine months if a defendant’s BAC was .15% or higher. In some cases, a judge may opt to send an individual to a residential drug or alcohol treatment center in lieu of jail time.

A defendant will be subject to either 50 hours of community service or a fine of up to $10 per hour that he or she is required to serve. A defendant will also lose his or her license for up to a year, and a hardship license may be available during the revocation period. Drivers will need to complete a DUI treatment program within 90 days of getting their licenses back.

Those who have been charged with DUI may be able to have the charge dropped or reduced through a plea bargain. An attorney may cast doubt on the results of a breathalyzer test conducted before taking a person into custody. It may also be possible to argue that an individual was experiencing a medical emergency when contacted by police. This may be enough to help a person avoid some or all penalties in a drunk driving case.